Home ReviewsMovies Here is everything you need to know about “The Conjuring Universe”

Here is everything you need to know about “The Conjuring Universe”

by Pallavi Narang
0 comment

The Conjuring Universe has garnered an immense fan base worldwide, with its spooky and intense series of movies and spin-offs. The Conjuring universe made an unexpected success since the release of the first movie “The Conjuring” back in 2013. The horror movies saga took the viewers and horror movie fanatics by storm. The way each story and movie is tied together is a true piece of art. And what’s more, James Wan, the director of the original two Conjuring movies, has more stories in his pocket to scar us for several days. 

So, if you are new to this budding fandom obsessed with the spooky Annabelle doll, this post is for you. Here is the whole Conjuring Universe explained chronologically. After reading this, you will be fully prepared to enjoy the next installment of the series planned this year.

What is the Conjuring Universe about?

The original movies and the spin-off that includes Annabelle captures the story of famous demonologists and paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren. Some of the real-life experience with the paranormal throughout their career, such as their interaction with the possessed Annabelle Doll, and the famous horror of Amityville can be seen in the movies of the Conjuring Universe.

In Annabelle Comes Home, you can even glimpse the now closed Occult Museum that contains the possessed objects and other relics collected by the investigator couple.

The Beginning of the Conjuring Universe

The Conjuring Universe, in release order, starts with The Conjuring. The movie is a spook-fest with its unsettling storyline with unexpected scares. The movie is set in the 1970s when the Perron family moves into a home that is supposedly haunted. Ed and Lorraine investigate the case, and even they are terrified by the intensity of the spirit.

After this stupendous start, the franchise is led forward with The Conjuring 2. In the movie, one can see Ed and Lorraine in action again in none other than the famous Amityville house.

The Annabelle Doll is here

We met the Annabelle Doll in the prologue of the Conjuring,  which got its movie in 2014. Though it started with a flop, the Annabelle series picked up its pace with Annabelle: Creation. Set in 1955, one can see how a raggedy ann doll becomes the Annabelle Doll of everyone’s nightmares. Further, in Annabelle Comes Home, we see the Annabelle doll in Warrens’s collection room. Is it safe there? In control? Watch the movie if you want to know!

The Origin of The Conjuring Universe

James Wan, as we said, believes the Conjuring Universe has a lot of offer. Hence, we have the very beginning of the demon that keeps us at the edge in every movie of The Conjuring Universe. The Nun, featuring the scariest monster (don’t judge me, I am still terrified of it), is set in 1952 in a Romanian Monastery. If you watch the Annabelle: Creation carefully, you can have a tiny glimpse of this monstrosity.

The Spin-Offs

All were surprised upon the announcement that The Curse of the Weeping Woman has a connection to Annabelle Doll, and hence a part of the expanding Conjuring Universe. Though the movie itself shows no connection to the universe, we expect the return of La Llorona in future ventures.

Another character to haunt our dreams, The Crooked Man, spotted in The Conjuring 2 full movie, will be getting a movie of his own. The project is underway, and the release has not been announced.

The Conjuring Universe in Chronological Order

  • The Nun – Set in 1952
  • Annabelle: Creation – Set in 1955
  • Annabelle – Set in 1967
  • The Conjuring – Set in 1968
  • Annabelle Comes Home – Set in1971
  • The Curse of La Llorona – Set in 1973
  • The Conjuring 2 – 1976

And once you are done with this scare-fest, you can calm your heart (no one is judging you) with a fun movie like The Wrong Missy. 


You may also like

Leave a Comment